Dr. Tarlok Singh Sahota Ph. D. CCA - Director of Research and Business
Originally from a family farm, Dr. Sahota, with a Ph.D. in Agronomy and an International Course for Development Oriented Research in Agriculture, Wageningen, The Netherlands, has over 30 years of experience in agricultural research, extension and development worldwide.
Dr. Sahota has made a significant impact on farms by introducing new crops/crop varieties and beneficial nutrient management practices. He has developed over 10,000 acres under contract mint farming for AM Todd Company USA and has managed large scale commercial farms, including a fresh produce export project. Dr. Sahota is an Ontario CCA since 2007, was nominated for the CCA Award of Excellence in 2013, is a member of the OFCC, and American Society of Agronomy, was twice an Eastern Director of the Canadian Society of Agronomy (CSA), President Elect in 2014-15, President in 2015-16 and is Past President of the CSA since July 2016.
Dr. Sahota has been an Adjunct Professor with the Faculty of Natural Resources Management, Lakehead University, Thunder Bay, Ontario since July 1, 2013. He was presented with an Award of Honour by the Alumni Association, Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana, India in 2015.

Blaine Tomeck - Agricultural Research Technician
Blaine, well versed with small plot research, was born and raised on a family farm in Thunder Bay and has been working at TBARS since 1996. Prior to his years at the Thunder Bay Agricultural Research Station, he worked for Agriculture Canada in potato and forage variety research.

Muhammad Usman - Agricultural Research Technician
Usman, a graduate from the Lakehead University, Thunder Bay, worked with us as Agricultural Research and Extension Intern from mid June 2016 to mid June 2017. He got a good grooming by Tomeck and Sahota in agricultural research and extension, performed well and was promoted to the position of Agricultural Research Technician in mid June 2017. Usman has also been involved in an on-farm survey to study impact of TBARS on farms/and farm related agri-businesses.

Carol Maki - Book Keeper


Founding/Past Presidents: Ben Kamphof, Allan Mol, Peter Aalbers and Bruce Forrest
President: Kevin Belluz
Vice President: Bernie Kamphof
Secretary: Shannon VanLenthe
Treasurer: Arnold Breukelman
Directors: Dennis Ellchook, Fritz Jaspers, and Karen Davies

Thunder Bay Agricultural Research Station
Suite B012, 435 James St
Thunder Bay,
Ontario P7E 6S7
Tel: (807) 475-1373
Fax: (807) 475-1313
Designed by Blue Snow Imaging.